What’s your daily routine like?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
  • Alysee123

    Toddler wakes me up anytime between 6:30-7:30. I usually get the toddler a snack of cheerios while I’m waiting for the big kids to wake up.

    Toddler eats and I empty the dishwasher, drink a coffee and listen to an audiobook. Then I get started on breakfast. Some days(if awake) I have a big kid helper and sometimes I tell them to entertain the toddler.

    I call the kids down for breakfast if they aren’t already up. Breakfast. Then chores get done.

    Everyone gets dressed and ready for the day.

    Outside(sometimes it’s for a half hour sometimes an hour, depends on how efficient they are, and how nicely they are playing, and how cold it is!)

    School starts with Tea & Books: The big girls drink decaf tea, I drink another coffee.

    We usually go straight into our unit study work, or if we haven’t been efficient with our time we skip it. My kids like to do it, so they’ve learned mostly to be efficient with their chores and getting ready.

    Lunch break

    Toddler naps. Individual studies. 10&8yo: Copywork & Dictation, Math, FixitGrammar,  Typing & Draw Your World. 6yos: Math, All About Spelling, Copywork,

    Toddler is awake. Brave Writer looping: Art, Writing Project, Poetry Tea, Writing Prompt. Friday is games.

    Afternoon Chores

    Free Time/School Time(if something didn’t get done!)


    Extra curriculars, Family Time or Free Time

    Books & Bed(this is also time when the kids read to us!)


    I’ve had different routines at different times over the last 14 years of homeschooling, but this is what ours is like now:

    Because of my fibromyalgia, I can’t get up early, so the kids are always up before me. They clean out the dishwasher, make their own breakfasts, and start on their school work.

    When I arrive, we do group subjects with my two youngest if there are any to do (it’s down to just history together now). Then I finish all subjects with my two youngest (2nd and 7th grades) and correct their work. During that time, my high schoolers are working independently. When the younger ones are done, then I spend time with the older ones and correct work.

    We’re done by lunch. My schedule has simplified over time. As they get older, it’s easier.


    I don’t go by time because that just stresses me out and makes me feel inadequate. I read “Managers of Their Homes” and while that level of organization sounds nice, I would feel shackled trying to implement it.

    Wake up. Eat. Clean up. Dress, brush teeth, make beds. Tidy bedrooms and living room.


    Lunch and cleanup.

    Neighborhood walk or go on a hike/nature walk by the river. For a couple of hours.

    Free play time/my Bible time. Read aloud.

    Dinner and cleanup. Catch up on any chores after dinner, such as putting away laundry, wiping walls, house repairs. Husband goes grocery shopping with the kids in the evenings (1-2 times a week) and that’s my much-needed silent/alone-time.

    Get ready for bed. Snack, brush teeth, family scripture and prayers. Kids get in bed and have quiet time to read and I nurse the baby to sleep.


    I’m awake at 5:30am and the 15 and 16 year old are up at 5:40am. I teach (over zoom right now) an early morning scripture study class with 11 teens (my 15 and 16 year old and 9 other high schoolers) from 6:20am-7:00am Monday through Friday during the school year.

    At 7am I wake up any kids still sleeping (ages 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13) and they have an hour for breakfast, getting dressed, and doing their morning chore.

    8am-10am is school work. 10am is snack break and the start of history read aloud or science. We do group work right after snack, then kids go finish up individual work. We are done by lunch at noon.

    12pm-1pm Lunch.

    1pm-2:30pm is medical care for my 9 year old and quiet time for everyone in some form.

    The rest of the day is free for pursuing interests, being outside, play, family time, etc. We do family scripture study right after dinner.

    8pm everyone heads to their bed with books, 9pm is lights out.

    Every day one child age 8 and older gets to stay up until 10pm. They keep an eye on the 2 or 5 year old while I get the other little one to sleep, then I grab whichever little one is still up and get them to sleep. I try to be in bed by 10pm so I can get up and do it all over again the next day.

    My husband is up for work at 3am, gone until 5 or 6pm most days, and in bed at 8pm like the kids. He’s all in to parenting and family life when he is home.



    We have odd days now that my kids are older (I have 5, ages 6 to 18).  I get up at 6 or so and have some quiet tablet time or read for a bit.  When my 6yo wakes up, I start my day.  My morning is spent with exercising, housework, and general household things like paying bills and making calls.  My kids wake up in their own time. We have lunch together, then start school, which lasts all afternoon.  I aim for an hour of 3 R’s, an hour of content subjects (history, science, Bible), and an hour or more of enrichment, but this varies.  Then we have a bit of free time before dinner.  I take a walk when dinner is in the oven or just after dinner while my kids clean up the dishes.  After dinner is more free time.  We used to do devotions and a read aloud after bed, but I’m usually too tired by then and deal with migraines as well.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • The topic ‘What’s your daily routine like?’ is closed to new replies.