books like Pagoo

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • aylin
    Participant

    We are reading Pagoo and the whole family is really enjoying it. We read Paddle To The Sea last year, but didn’t find it nearly so interesting. I think the attraction is finding out neat facts about marine life in the context of a story. I’m hoping to find suggestions for other books that are similar. We don’t really like the Burgess books. I think they are too broad in scope for my son,who enjoys learning neat little facts.

    Wings2fly
    Participant

    They are newer, but we enjoyed the Dolphin books by Wayne Grover. There are 3 of them: Dolphin Adventure, Dolphin Treasure and Dolphin Freedom.

    Gem
    Participant

    If you haven’t seen Minn of the Mississippi by the same author, you might like it.  I have not seen Paddle to the Sea, but I have both Minn and Pagoo and they are much alike – a lot of fascinating info along with the story.  Minn is a great geography and science resource.

    April
    Member

    Have you looked at the other Holling C Holling books?  

    April
    Member

    Oh wait sorry I was thinking  Paddle to the Sea was Mcklosky…got mixed up  Embarassed

    aylin
    Participant

    I’m thinking of trying this one. http://www.mainlesson.com/display.php?author=pierson&book=night&story=_contents

    But I’m pretty sure it won’t be as beloved.

    Kalle
    Participant

    We love the books by Clara Dillingham Pierson for nature study. They are for a bit younger age range though. However, my almost nine year old is still really enjoying them.

    Another group of books that we have loved is The ________ Twins series by Lucy Perkins.  Theses are books about twins of different cultures. You can read many of them from the Balwin Project. :

       http://www.mainlesson.com/displayauthor.php?author=perkins

    Arabella Buckley writes some amazing nature books:      

    http://www.mainlesson.com/displayauthor.php?author=buckley                 Miss Mason actually used some of her books with her kids.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • The topic ‘books like Pagoo’ is closed to new replies.