5 y.o. to start w/SWR or LOEE or RLTL? And how fast should 5yo learn cursive?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Participant

I’m totally new to this and would LOVE advice. I already bought SWR (Swell to Write and Read) and have started wading through the book, laminated everything, and teaching my daughter Cursive First for starters.  EVERYTHING I’ve read says that SWR is the best and most effective but many parents drop out because it is harder on the teacher, and possibly the student. Then I’ve learned there’s other programs like SWR that might be easier like LOEE (Logic of English Essentials) and RLTL (Reading Lessons through Literature). I’ve already invested so much money and effort into SWR that I cringe to part with it so soon. As a new homeschooler, of course I want *THE BEST.* 🙂 I’m wondering if I can start with one of the other programs and switch to SWR later, or if they would not be compatible? Would love to hear all different opinions.   My other concern is how well whatever Language Arts program I chose will mesh with my daughter learning cursive. SWR seems to think you can teach handwriting in 2 weeks to 2 months AT MOST and then begin complicated dictated spelling and rules lessons! I don’t want to hold my daughter back in spelling (and therefore learning to read since it is a “spell to read” program) because she might need more time to master writing. I don’t want writing to be so frustrating that she learns to hate spelling with all those rule markings! On that note, what is a reasonable timeline to learn to write cursive for a 5 y.o.? (Side Note: If you’re not familiar with reasons to teach cursive first, check this out: http://www.montessoriutah.com/why-cursive-first/ )

missceegee
    Participant